1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Kroak extra save + Saurus Gurad selfless protectors?

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by MackiMac, Aug 29, 2020.

  1. MackiMac
    Razordon

    MackiMac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Does Saurus guard "Selfless Protector" rule trigger before or after Kroak get his "Dead for Innumerable Ages" extra save?
     
    Lizerd and LizardWizard like this.
  2. xoid
    Kroxigor

    xoid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Before. Selfless Protector happens before you allocate wounds to a model, Dead for Innumerable Ages happens when wounds are allocated to a model.
     
    Lizerd, MackiMac, Imrahil and 2 others like this.
  3. MackiMac
    Razordon

    MackiMac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks :)
    Just for clarification, is this before or after normal saves?
    English is my second language and im dyslectic, reading the wound allocation rules just confuses me

    Hit > wound > save > selfless protector > save after save ?
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  4. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,866
    Likes Received:
    18,998
    Trophy Points:
    113
    damage allocation happens after saves.
    hit > wound > slann save > selfless protector > guards take damage, no further save.

    the only thing you could do to prevent the damage to guards, would be an Astrolith Bearer within range.
     
    Lizerd and MackiMac like this.
  5. MackiMac
    Razordon

    MackiMac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks I think that I mixed up wound allocation and damage allocation in my head somehow
     
    Lizerd likes this.
  6. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,866
    Likes Received:
    18,998
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You're welcome. :)
     
    MackiMac and Lizerd like this.
  7. Emoge
    Jungle Swarm

    Emoge New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Sorry to necro, however I figured it would be better than starting a new thread.

    Why would you still be able to use Astrolith banner on the wound? Per the Pitched Battles special rule, you cannot make more than 1 dice roll to negate a wound that has been allocated. So wouldn't this wound have already been attempted to be negated by Kroak's FNP?
     
  8. xoid
    Kroxigor

    xoid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Nope, Kroak doesn't get his FNP save until the wound is allocated, and since selfless protector is before the wound is allocated it hasn't happened yet.
     
  9. Xuil
    Chameleon Skink

    Xuil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    450
    Trophy Points:
    63
    This is correct. You get the ‘hand off’ to Guard before wound allocation, then ONE of the Astrolith or Kroak’s FNP, never both.
     
  10. Prince
    Skink

    Prince Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So if I understood this right. If Kroak is wounded and his standard save fails. And one attack was for 5dmg, do I throw one dice and hope for 4+ or do I throw 5 dices? I just wanna be sure if I'm understanding the fnp 4+ rule correctly.
     
  11. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,866
    Likes Received:
    18,998
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You throw 5 dices. The damage is 5 wounds, but "dead for innumerable ages" says that you roll a dice each time you allocate a wound, not each time Lord Kroak is wounded.
    So, 5 wounds from one source of damage, 5 rolls of fnp
     
    Prince likes this.

Share This Page