1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS krox skink key word buff

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by chefofwar, Sep 13, 2020.

  1. chefofwar
    Saurus

    chefofwar Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    18
    On the krox unit, does the "skink" key word apply to all "skink" or more exact, kinda like the way the FoS is just skink warscroll and cham.

    for example, if the krox are within 6 of a steg would they benefit? or is it only skink infantry blobs.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    9,047
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In this case it is Skink Keyword. So Bastiladons, Stegadons, Hunting Packs, Terradons, ect, all apply the buff.
     
    chefofwar and Grotpunter like this.
  3. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,162
    Likes Received:
    17,054
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yep. That's one of the reasons why kroxigors are effective in a thunderquake battalion. Units with skinks keyword are already included, so the buff is "free".
     
    chefofwar and LizardWizard like this.
  4. chefofwar
    Saurus

    chefofwar Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    18
    had this come up in a game.

    The way the kroxigor rule is worded using the "any" and "units" plural, does this situation work? We said yes in the moment.

    Krox unit is inbetween 10 skink unit and stegadon. the krox are not wholly within the skinks or the stegadon independently, but if you look at both the steg and skinks, the krox are covered by 6 inch bubbles. the buff is triggered?

    or does it need to be wholly within one individual unit.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    9,047
    Trophy Points:
    113
    From a semantic argument you are correct. However, AoS uses the clause *any unit* to mean effects don't stack. Most TOs I know would say the krox has to be wholly within 6" of the same unit for the buff to trigger.
     
    chefofwar likes this.
  6. chefofwar
    Saurus

    chefofwar Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ok, will just have to work on positioning them better
     
  7. xoid
    Cold One

    xoid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    263
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Yeah, the rules as written don't match what is generally accepted as the meaning, and how things are generally seen in the AoS sphere. To say what is played it should say "when wholly within 6" of a unit with the skink keyword."
     
    chefofwar and LizardWizard like this.

Share This Page