1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Scar vet on carnosaur using command ability on himself

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Yoshi, Sep 15, 2020.

  1. Yoshi
    Jungle Swarm

    Yoshi New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hey guys, need some help on a rules question for Scar vet on carnosaur's command ability. I can't find anything and was surprised it was being questioned.

    Can his command ability be used on himself giving his attacks with his celestite weapon two extra hits on a roll of 6 with the cold ferocity?

    My friend stated that it only states 2 hits with the ability not 3. I stated that it won't say 3 because it is a different ability. Is there any rules/faq/video I can show him or am I wrong?
     
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  2. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    8,984
    Trophy Points:
    113
    He can use his CA on himself. He would get 3 hits on each roll of a 6. One for the hit being successful, 1 extra for his Command ability, and 1 for his built in rule on his celestite weapon.
     
    Canas and Imrahil like this.
  3. Canas
    Slann

    Canas Ninth Spawning

    Messages:
    5,259
    Likes Received:
    8,100
    Trophy Points:
    113
    when in doubt remember: everything stacks unless it's explicitly stated otherwise somewhere.
     
    Imrahil and LizardWizard like this.
  4. Grotpunter
    Terradon

    Grotpunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    93
    The interesting thing here is that the ability specifically says the attack scores "2 hits instead of 1", not that you get an additional attack. I think there is a case for arguing that it wont stack due to the exact wording of the ability. There is an FAQ to the Core Rules that states a single dice roll can trigger multiple effects at once, so Im personally of the opinion that it stacks and you score 2 additional hits per 6s. Just making you aware some people have the other stance. It is somewhat a grey area tbh.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  5. Canas
    Slann

    Canas Ninth Spawning

    Messages:
    5,259
    Likes Received:
    8,100
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I could swear there was a F.A.Q. at some point explaining that it stacked in the following way: each of the abilities turns 1 normal hit into 1 normal + 1 bonus hit. So you get the following:

    - Hit roll of 6 -> 1 hit (1 normal hit)
    - celestite weapon causes the normal hit to trigger a bonus hit -> 2 hits (1 normal, 1 bonus)
    - command ability causes the normal hit to trigger a bonus hit -> 3 hits (1 normal, 2 bonus)

    And if you'd stack more rules like this you could continue indefenitly.

    The reason for this F.A.Q. was cuz someone wondered if it would result in 4 hits (celestite weapon doubles the hit, command ability then doubling those 2 hits)

    Can't find the F.A.Q. anymore though, which is rather annoying.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    3,270
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There was a specific designers commentary, and this question and that ruling are in this forum already somewhere. I recall because I was part of the convo lol
     
    LizardWizard and Canas like this.
  7. Canas
    Slann

    Canas Ninth Spawning

    Messages:
    5,259
    Likes Received:
    8,100
    Trophy Points:
    113
    see, I knew I wasn't insane and remembering things that didn't happen. Or at least not about this :p
     
    LizardWizard likes this.

Share This Page