1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS vanguard battalion ability

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by chefofwar, Oct 2, 2021.

  1. chefofwar
    Chameleon Skink

    chefofwar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    362
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Is it correct that I could use the "free" all out attack as well as the regular command point cost to have 2 all out attacks in one phase?
     
  2. NecridHydra
    Temple Guard

    NecridHydra Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    278
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Q: If an ability allows a unit to receive a command without the
    command being issued and without a command point being spent,
    does the restriction that you cannot use the same command ability
    more than once in the same phase still apply?
    A: Yes.
     
  3. chefofwar
    Chameleon Skink

    chefofwar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    362
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks, that checks out then.

    If that is the case, and that restriction beats all, seems like a wordy way to describe the battalion ability?

    "once per game you may use the All out attack or all out defense command ability for free"

    I have not come across situations of cause and effect of triggers when a command is "issued" or "received", I guess they may exist
     
  4. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,250
    Likes Received:
    33,427
    Trophy Points:
    113
    well, there are some benefits (other than the free cp):
    - if you're out of range from a hero, you can still issue the command
    - if a monster's roar stops a unit to being issued a command, you can bypass the limitation
     
  5. chefofwar
    Chameleon Skink

    chefofwar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    362
    Trophy Points:
    63
    this bypasses roar? I did not know that
     
  6. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,250
    Likes Received:
    33,427
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm re-readin it.

    the unit "can receive the All-out Attack or All-out Defence command without the command being issued"

    with roar, "that unit cannot issue or receive commands"

    technically, the unit receives the command, but the command is not issued. But roar refers to what the unit can or cannot receive, so probably the command is stopped anyway.
     
    Putzfrau likes this.

Share This Page