1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Who fights first?

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Kilvakar, Apr 4, 2020.

1. Kilvakar
    Carnasaur

Kilvakar Well-Known Member

Pretty common question I'm sure, but I'm still pretty new to AoS and I was just hoping someone could clarify for me a little bit on how the so-called "activation wars" work.

From what I understand in the rules, if it's your turn your units are supposed to fight first in that combat phase. Is this correct?

I know that certain armies have abilities where they can get to fight before you even if it's your turn. But in several Youtube battle reports I've watched, the players take turns on who fights first based on each individual combat.

For example; Seraphon vs Khorne, Seraphon player's turn. The Seraphon player has his Dread Saurian attack a Bloodthirster, killing it. But then a unit of Flesh Hounds fight first against a Carnosaur, which doesn't fight back at all. Then the a unit of Rippers attack a Bloodsecrator, then another Bloodthirster attacks a unit of skinks, then the Carnosaur finally gets to fight back against the Flesh Hounds.

My question is whether that's how combat is supposed to work and I just read the rules wrong, or if the players I was watching were doing it incorrectly. Are you supposed to alternate combats each combat phase regardless of whose turn it is? Or is the player whose turn it is get to have their units fight first (barring specific abilities that let the other player go first)?

Lizerd likes this.
  2. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

Combat activations rotate between players. The persons who turn it is activates a unit first. Then the other player/s activate a unit and it continues to alternate. There are lots of ability that interaction with this process though.

Lizerd likes this.
  3. Kilvakar
    Carnasaur