1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Wounding multiple units at once

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by Tyranitar, Nov 27, 2020.

  1. Tyranitar
    Terradon

    Tyranitar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    1,435
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Hey all. Are there clear rules for how wounds get allocated if something like a Comet's Call inflicts mortal wounds on multiple units at the same time? I was playing vs OBR and it came up, because I wounded a Harvester at the same time as some mortek guard, and if the wounds went to the harvester first it wouldn't have been around to save some guard. Would the OBR player be able to move back and forth between units if they wished, say allocating one wound at a time between the units to heal damage to the harvester as it happened? Like, allocate one wound to the harvester, then one wound to a guard unit and if the guard died, heal the wound on the harvester that it just suffered before allocating a second wound to the harvester?

    Sorry, it's a bit confusing and hard to describe, but I can't find anything on it myself. Thanks for any help!
     
    LizardWizard and Imrahil like this.
  2. Koriialstraz
    Temple Guard

    Koriialstraz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    272
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Hey.
    Normally you allocate all the wounds to one unit before allocating all the wounds to another unit.
    So, in your example, the OBR player should choose which unit takes the wound first, allocate all the wound to that unit, then do the same to the other unit.
     
    LizardWizard, Tyranitar and Imrahil like this.
  3. Tyranitar
    Terradon

    Tyranitar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    1,435
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thanks for the response. That's what we ended up doing, but is it stated in the rules or FAQ's anywhere because we couldn't find anything concrete
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  4. Tav
    Kroxigor

    Tav Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    448
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Generally whoevers turn it is decides the order of events if they happen at the same time, your turn therefore you say the harvester takes wounds, then the guard etc
     
  5. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,250
    Likes Received:
    33,427
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm pretty sure that, at least for effects that come from different sources and should be applied at the same moment, it's the player in charge of the turn that chooses the order of resolution.

    When there are effects that are triggered by damage allocation, that's up to the receiving player.

    But for spells that target multiple units, you roll the damage for each unit, one unit at a time, and so the receiving unit must immediately make the save.
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  6. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    9,466
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think the confusion was due to how attacking works and how spells and abilities work. Spells and abilities are resolved by the person who controls the units which produce them. Attacks have to be fully declared before being rolled for. And attacks from the same unit resolve simultaneously. What this means, is you get to deal damage with the spell in the order your choose. And each resolves separately, unlike an attack where they would all resolve simultaneously.
     
  7. Tyranitar
    Terradon

    Tyranitar Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    1,435
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Do you happen to know where that's stated in the rules?
     
    LizardWizard likes this.
  8. LizardWizard
    OldBlood

    LizardWizard Grand Skink Handler Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    9,466
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It is the corerule book. I can find the page numbers and paragraphs for you tonight when I have my book in front of me.
     
    Imrahil and Tyranitar like this.

Share This Page