1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AoS Balewind vortex 2 rules

Discussion in 'Rules Help' started by theodoris, Jul 8, 2018.

  1. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It's a single model, so you measure from the base.
    The base of the vortex increases the bubble range of your spells but the Slann can be attacked in cc even by goblins.

    But the ability to LoSaT a Slann on vortex is well worth the little risk. ;)
     
    HelloBear likes this.
  2. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ...Oh, and of someone objects about LoSaT a balewind vortex, the skaven designer 's commentary clarifies that you can
     
  3. HelloBear
    Skink

    HelloBear Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Don't have the skaven battletome, so I assume that skitterleap functions much the same way as LoSaT?
     
  4. HelloBear
    Skink

    HelloBear Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    13
    The idea of pinging behind lines, firing off a meteoric convocation and an arcane bolt, then going back to where I started and still smugly adding 6 conjuration points makes me very happy
     
  5. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
  6. HelloBear
    Skink

    HelloBear Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    13
  7. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Cold One

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    316
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Just looking at buying a Balewind Vortex model.

    It looks really tall, and taller still with a metal Slaan sat atop it...

    Foresight tells me that perching my frogman on this will result in a smashed model, how are you guys getting around this?
     
  8. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My metal Slann is not glued on its metal throne.

    So when i cast the vortex i remove the throne and the Slann sits directly upon the vortex. Much safer.
     
  9. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Cold One

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    316
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks for the speedy response KA!

    Yeah, mine is glued to the palanquin... unfortunate. Hopefully opponents will let me just have the Slaan swap out for the Balewind model.

    Also, had a look at the Skaven designers commentary and couldn’t see anything about balewind/teleports? Could you give me a bit more guidance as I’m struggling! Thanks.
     
  10. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Sure. Have you checked the latest version? (8/7/2019) it's in the second page magenta colored.

    Anyway, here's the relevant part:

    upload_2019-9-28_9-25-32.png
     
  11. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Cold One

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    316
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Second page? Therein lies the problem! Haha, cheers bro!

    EDIT: just had another look and that link is to the Skaven ‘Faction Focus’, found the designers commentary after a quick google search! :)
     
    LizardWizard and Killer Angel like this.
  12. HelloBear
    Skink

    HelloBear Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I also just stuck my slann on top without palanquin, maybe if people are worried about LoS for the slann, stick a skink on top? About the same height as a slann.
     
  13. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Of course the answer is to buy a second slann. :D
     
  14. A_Reptile_Dysfunction
    Cold One

    A_Reptile_Dysfunction Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    316
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Haha! I have a blot toad that a have mocked up as a mini Slaan sat in a palanquin! I could sub that in :woot:

    Soon to be joined by the reroll/score counter from the Bloodbowl team.

    Edit: I also have Kroak who unlike the Slaan isn’t glued in place!

    I found a disk shaped belt buckle to use as the top of my Vortex that is in the design of the Mayan calendar.

    It’s 78mm diameter so I think it will be perfect, not sure weather to paint it or leave it as is!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
    HelloBear, Dr.Doom and Imrahil like this.
  15. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Marvelous!
    leave it as it is! :)
     
  16. Imrahil
    Slann

    Imrahil Thirtheenth Spawning

    Messages:
    11,421
    Likes Received:
    24,186
    Trophy Points:
    113
    that is awesome!
    I was looking for something like that but a bit smaller for my Astrolith bearer.

    this one will look great as a Balewind vortex.

    I'd like to see the end result .

    Gr, Imrahil
     
  17. Killer Angel
    Slann

    Killer Angel Prophet of the Stars Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,127
    Likes Received:
    33,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'd find also useful to cite another FAQ (this one for Core Book):

    Q: Some abilities allow you to remove a unit from the battlefield and set it up again, and say that this ‘counts as their move for the movement phase’ (or words to that effect). Do these units count as having made a move for the purposes of any other rules or abilities?
    A: No, it simply restricts them from making a move later on.

    Link

    Basically, there are at least 2 FAQ that confirm that you can teleport your slann with the BV
     
  18. ILKAIN
    Skink Chief

    ILKAIN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    3,388
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I use magnets lol.
     

Share This Page